Yesterday I wrote about a few books that I am in the process of reading (or waiting to reach me in the case of the Strunk and White book) and I thought that it would be nice to touch back on that topic. I should clarify something first; when I mention ‘Reading to Learn’ I don’t necessarily mean reading a tutorial book or whatever you would classify yesterday’s mentions as. Those are great learning tools, though.

What I mean – and probably could clarify in my title, but that would make typing all of this pointless – is reading novels of various genres to see how other writers create such amazing stories. Even if you are simply reading to enjoy the book, I’m sure subconsciously that you’ll be able to grasp just a little bit of what makes the book work well. Being interested in children’s, young adult, and adult (fantasy) fiction, I decided to read The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, Magician by Raymond Feist, and soon either The Rise of the Iron Moon by Stephen Hunt or one of the many China Mieville books I want to read.

“But where does your writing come in?” you might wonder? Soon, I hope. I’ll definitely touch on that more in tomorrow’s blog post, but I think now is the time for me to focus on learning the craft rather than diving headfirst into something without a bit of guidance. James Scott Bell’s Plot and Structure is helping along with that, especially since the exercises at the end of each chapter are geared towards helping you carve out your own personal plot. It is pretty helpful and I recommend it to any aspiring writers out there.

