It has been a while since my last post and there really hasn’t been too much of a reason for that. Well, not a good reason! Between playing Final Fantasy XIII, Resonance of Fate, and reading Raymond E. Feist’s Magician, I really haven’t had too much worth talking about. There have been a few important issues on my mind, but neither will get in the way of my goal of becoming a published author.

Speaking of Magician, I finished it and absolutely loved the first two books in what I have heard is The Rift Wars Saga. I loved reading them so much that I have ordered the next two in the saga, Silverthorn and A Darkness at Sethanon, though I’m a little sad that they won’t be the masterwork UK versions like my copy of Magician. Yeah, I’m picky about things not quite matching on my (future) bookshelf. I can see why the book is a bestseller around the world and it has taught me a bit about writing in little ways that these podcasts and books on writing haven’t touched on yet.

To break up the Feist reading that I’m about to embark upon, I have also ordered The Scar by China Mieville because I enjoyed Perdido Street Station earlier this year and I’m eager to see how this book fares. I hear it doesn’t have the same dark horror vibe of Perdido, but it still ends up being a ‘better novel.’ I also decided to take Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead from whatever dark corner of my closet it was hiding in to give it a read. I’ve owned the book since freshman year or so of high school, but now I think I can settle down and appreciate the philosophy in the story. That and I opted for Amazon’s saver shipping, and will have to wait a while for all of my books to come to me. I’ll explain why this is struck through in my next post.

I can’t say that I will be writing here everyday as I once mentioned. I mean, I most certainly could do so, but I’d exhaust all interesting topics or this would boil down to a day to day journal, which I’m not at all interested in writing. This is personal, but not that personal.

